ƒz[ƒ€ Home ƒtƒHƒgƒMƒƒƒ‰ƒŠ[ Gallery ‹à‘ò‰€‚Ì—ðŽj History Œð’ʈēà Access
english

KANAZAWAEN History and Access

Brief History

The tea house Kanazawa-en was established and opened its door in the year of 1930(Showa 5)as a recreation center,with an amusement park and a Japanese-style restaurant and inn at Shiba-machi, Kanazawa-ku,Yokohama-shi. At that time,there was a beach in their property, where people used to enjoy pleasure boat, the fishing pond, and gathering shellfish at low tide.Front view of Kanazawa-en, 1930
Akiko Yosano, the famous woman poet praised the beautiful scenery of Kanazawa-en, and composed several poems. A picturesque place, Kyoshi Takahama used to hold Nihon Tansho-kai. (the gathering to enjoy the beauties of scenery)Nowadays, the natural beauty of the scenery was lost due to the reclamation by the city and county of Yokohama, however it still continues as a Japanese restaurant in the main building. This building is registered as cultural properties.
Restaurant which became the predecessor of Kanazawa-en Mangetsu.Ridgepole raising ceremony of Kanazawa-en, 1929.A scene in the kitchen of Kanazawa-en, 1930

Access

KANAZAWAEN 46 Shiba-machi, Kanazawa-ku, Yokohama Kanagawa 236-0012 Tel: 045-701-8664 *Regular holiday and business hours will be announced after the renewal start.
Access by trainEKeikyu line to Kanazawa Bunko Station Take the bus that goes to Shibamachi, please get off at KanazawaenMae Bus Stop.E5 minutes walk from Seaside line to Uminokouen Shibaguchi Station. Google Maps

ƒy[ƒWTOP‚Ö